|
border_tl border_tr
How to disable client side restore funktion of VSS Minimize

Oliver Sommer 
2009-03-19

At first you need to implement this update to have the options discused later in this article: http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx/kb/903234

NOTE: If client computer do not see the Previous Versions tab on the Properties dialog, then the Shadow Copies of Shared Folders feature may not be enabled on the file share.

NOTE: If you disable the Restore button on the Previous Versions tab, client computers can only copy earlier versions to alternate locations. They cannot overwrite current versions with an earlier version of any files or folders.

 

To remove the Previous Versions tab you can add this Key to a computers registry:
HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer
NoPreviousVersionsPage

REG_DWORD
Value= 1

You may add the key using this command in a computers startup script:
REG ADD HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer /V NoPreviousVersionsPage /T REG_DWORD /D 1

NOTE: You could also add this to a users Logon script:
REG ADD HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer /V NoPreviousVersionsPage /T REG_DWORD /D 1

 

To disable the Restore button, add this to a computers registry:
HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer NoPreviousVersionsRestore
REG_DWORD
Value =1

To disable the Restore button, add this to a computers Startup script:
REG ADD HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer /V NoPreviousVersionsRestore /T REG_DWORD /D 1

NOTE: You could also add the following to a usersLogon script:

REG ADD HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer /V NoPreviousVersionsRestore /T REG_DWORD /D 1

 Print  
Feedback Maximize

border_bl border_br
©2007 EBSfaq.com. All rights reserved.This is not a Microsoft site,it's community. Hosted by 3can.de Terms Of Use Privacy Statement